Welcome New Members! We want to hear from you. Register, stop lurking and start posting!

Taking photos of Lightning

Upload a picture and share it with us. Of nature at it's finest!!! Remember there is more on this earth than weather!!! The world is literally your frame.....
Blackee
Site Admin/Moderator
Reactions:

Taking photos of Lightning

Post by Blackee »

Many thanks to Brad (Hamlan) who posted this in the New Years Breaking weather thread.

The link to Michael Baths guide that Rivergirl has posted is definately worth looking at. I have met Michael (albeit briefly) and know via a mutual stormchasing friend Jimmy that he is an excellent lightning photographer. Personally I've been shooting lightning for 4 years but am still learning and make mistakes so i recommend Michaels guidance which I have followed up to now. Here are some basic tips off the top of my head:

- usually (but not always) you will get best results with an SLR camera due to their larger sensors, high resolution and low noise (amongst other features) compared to compacts - I use a Canon 50D 15MP SLR.
- use a camera that has manual settings and long exposure capabilities (ideally with bulb function to allow you to control the length of the exposure of each pic)
- shoot with ISO 100
- use a sturdy tripod and if possible use a shutter release cable or remote so you dont move the camera each time you press the shutter button
- focus on infinity and turn off autofocus so the lens doesnt constantly search for focus in the dark
- begin with an aperture and exposure time that matches the intensity of the bolts occuring and the ambient light at the time. If you allow too much light in (large aperture) when a bolt occurs it can 'blow out' or overexpose the shot and you will get no detail in the pic but if you close up the aperture too much you run the risk of missing low intensity bolts altogether.